Menu

News/Events

Year in Review: 2017-2018

Posted on: October 1, 2018

Dollar Energy Fund kicks off a new program year this week, but we can’t stop celebrating the accomplishments we shared together this past year. Our success would not be possible without the constant support from all of our partners, agencies, donors, staff, board members, community leaders, businesses and more. By sharing Dollar Energy Fund’s dedication and passion for helping your neighbors in need, you have allowed us to continue our work for more than 35 years. Let us look back at some highlights of the 2017-2018 program year (October 2017 – September 2018):

  • In November, our Warm Your Hearth, Touch a Heart Campaign kicked off its 9th annual event with a reception at Hearth and Home Furnishings in Zelienople. Efforts to date have brought our nine-year total to more than $138,000, including a generous match from Peoples, to assist gas customers throughout Butler County.
  • Dollar Energy Fund was proud to be the presenting sponsor and benefiting charity of Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland this season.
  • Dollar Energy Fund began a partnership with the Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority to establish a bill discount, lead line replacement, and hardship program for limited-income customers.
  • Duquesne Light Company supported Dollar Energy Fund during its Power It Forward campaign through a 24-hour social media fundraiser and text-to-give campaign that raised $10,000 for Pittsburghers in need.
  • Vineyard Vines in Ross Park Mall hosted an in-store 10/10 event. For a 3-hour period, every customer received 10% off their purchase while Vineyard Vines donated 10% back to Dollar Energy Fund.
  • Dollar Energy Fund hosted a new event with iHeartMedia and 3WS Pittsburgh called the Winter Warm Up Request-A-Thon where supporters could donate to request a song. The event raised more than $77,300 to provide utility assistance to approximately 215 Pittsburgh families and individuals who were struggling to stay warm.Request-A-Thon
  • Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania hosted a fundraiser in partnership with the Trans-Siberian Orchestra, which donated a portion of every Pittsburgh ticket sold to Dollar Energy Fund, totaling more than $12,200.
  • In January, Dollar Energy Fund raised more than $222,000 during its 4th Annual Cool Down for Warmth event in Market Square, all with the help of local business leaders, sponsors, utility partners and many generous community individuals. The amount raised gave assistance to approximately 635 Pittsburgh families and individuals who were struggling to afford safe utility service.
  • During Cool Down for Warmth, we hosted a Bowls for Warmth Lunch in the Square Soup Tasting, where local restaurants participated in a soup challenge and served cups of soup to the lunchtime crowd. Fifteen local restaurants showed up to support Dollar Energy Fund and the lunch event raised over $20,000 in two days, including a match from our utility partners.
  • In February, Dollar Energy Fund’s 10th annual Warmathon on NewsRadio 1020 KDKA raised $150,000, which helped 430 Pittsburgh-area households.
  • Through our partnership with the Pittsburgh Penguins, we hosted a variety of fundraisers this season to expand our reach and awareness in the community. Our Jerseys for Warmth Auction and Fan Appreciation Night Raffle raised over $80,000 combined, including a match from our utility partners.
  • During the Pittsburgh Home & Garden Show in March, Dollar Energy Fund teamed up with Dormont Appliance for a raffle to benefit limited-income Duquesne Light customers.
  • Dollar Energy Fund partnered with the Columbus Blue Jackets to raise funds and increase our reach in Ohio through a variety of different raffles, including the CannonBall, Jerseys Off Our Backs, and CBJ Special Jersey Auction.
  • Dollar Energy Fund’s Chief Information Officer, Sean Smiles, was named a 2018 CIO of the Year Nonprofit Finalist by the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
  • On April 19, 2018, Dollar Energy Fund marked its 35th anniversary of helping our neighbors in need and kicked off a year-long celebration to recognize the milestone. The City of Pittsburgh recognized Dollar Energy Fund with a proclamation during the City Council meeting on April 24, 2018. Read about the history of Dollar Energy Fund.
  • Dollar Energy Fund hosted its first fishing tournament, Fishing for a Cause, on Sunday, April 22, 2018. We welcomed more than 75 boats to Smith Mountain Lake – Parkway Marina, Virginia. The event raised $20,150, including a utility partner match, to assist limited-income customers of Appalachian Power Company maintain or restore basic electric service through our Virginia Neighbor to Neighbor Program.
  • In May, Dollar Energy Fund was an exhibitor at this year’s CS Week Conference in Tampa, Florida, to share our solutions on managing low-income utility assistance programs, creating customized cloud-based software technology, and providing customer contact call center services.
  • In June, Dollar Energy Fund welcomed 32 foursomes and more than 120 guests to the 10th Annual Golf Classic at Quicksilver Golf Club. This event is a fan favorite, featuring 18-holes of golf, our famous Bloody Mary bar, spiked Rita’s Italian Ice, a delicious lunch and more!
  • A week after the Golf Classic, Dollar Energy Fund attended the Pittsburgh EggFest, hosted by Hearth & Home Furnishings in Zelienople. We received $670 in proceeds from a Big Green Egg raffle, which was matched by Peoples for a total of $1,340. This amount will go towards our 10th Annual Warm Your Hearth, Touch a Heart Campaign, which kicks off on November 1, 2018.
  • Several members of Dollar Energy Fund’s staff and management team attended the National Energy and Utility Affordability Coalition (NEUAC) 2018 Annual Conference in Phoenix, Arizona on June 26-28, 2018. Dollar Energy Fund was presented with the Victorine Q. Adams Award for raising public awareness and generating financial aid for people in need of energy assistance through our Cool Down for Warmth fundraiser. Chad Quinn, Dollar Energy Fund’s Chief Executive Officer, finished out his final conference as the President for NEUAC’s Board of Directors.
  • In July, Dollar Energy Fund received a four-star rating from Charity Navigator, an independent evaluator of charitable organizations. This is the highest possible rating and indicates that our organization adheres to best practices and has a commitment to financial accountability and transparency.
  • Once again this season, Dollar Energy Fund continues its partnership with Pitt Football by sponsoring The Pat Narduzzi Show. We are giving away a weekly VIP package to the show to those who like or follow us on social media. The contest will run until November 21, 2018.
  • Dollar Energy Fund began a new partnership with Kelly Services in September.
  • On Friday, September 14, 2018, we joined our partners in celebration at the Rivers Casino for our 35th Annual Luncheon. We gathered with approximately 150 guests to honor the utility partners, employees, community organizations and leaders who worked diligently this year to bring Dollar Energy Fund’s mission to life.
  • This year, Dollar Energy Fund celebrated milestone years of partnership with the following utility companies:
    • Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania – 35 years of partnership
    • Duquesne Light Company – 35 years of partnership
    • Peoples Natural Gas – 35 years of partnership
    • Appalachian Power Company – 10 years of partnership
    • Columbia Gas of Maryland – 10 years of partnership
    • Dominion Energy West Virginia – 10 years of partnership
    • Peoples Natural Gas – 10 years of partnership
    • Mon Power, a FirstEnergy Company – 10 years of partnership
    • Mountaineer Gas – 10 years of partnership
    • Potomac Ed, a FirstEnergy Company – 10 years of partnership
    • West Virginia American Water Company – 10 years of partnership
  • Dollar Energy Fund had the opportunity to attend and present at the 2018 Pittsburgh Be Utility Wise Conference in September, organized by the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission.

Since 1983, we have assisted 537,000 households by distributing $148 million in utility assistance nationwide. With your help, we can continue to provide immediate and direct assistance during our 2018-2019 program year. Your contribution, no matter how big or small, can make an extraordinary impact by ensuring local, limited-income families maintain or restore safe utility service and get on a path to self-sufficiency. If you would like to get involved during this program year, subscribe to our email newsletters and get the latest updates. We have many more fundraising opportunities.

On behalf of the many individuals, seniors and families we have helped, we thank you for your continued support!

Categories

Archives

Calendar

October 2018
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

24,737 Grants Provided During Our 2017-2018 Program Year