Call for Annual Luncheon Nominations

June 17th, 2016


Dollar Energy Fund’s 33rd Annual Luncheon will be held on Friday, September 9, 2016. Each year during the luncheon, we present awards to community members who make a significant impact on the lives of limited-income individuals and families served through Dollar Energy Fund’s Hardship Program. Dollar Energy Fund is currently seeking nominations for both our Betty Ann Simon Memorial Award and our Golden Eagle Awards.

In memory of Dollar Energy Fund’s founder, the Betty Ann Simon Memorial Award recognizes a leader who has “made significant contributions to the limited-income community through advocacy, limited-income program advancements, program creation, legislation, and program funding attainment that have assisted Dollar Energy Fund clients and limited-income clients throughout the state build a path to self-sufficiency.” The winner of this award will be publicly recognized at Dollar Energy Fund’s Annual Luncheon. Also, Dollar Energy Fund will award the first utility assistance grant of the 2016-2017 program year in the name of the Betty Ann Simon Memorial Award recipient.

We invite you to nominate a community leader for this prestigious award by completing the Betty Ann Simon Memorial Award Nomination Form. This is an excellent opportunity to recognize leaders who strive to assist the low and limited-income community and make the world a better place.

Additionally, Dollar Energy Fund’s Golden Eagle Awards are presented to representatives at our partnering community-based organizations, utility companies, foundations, government entities as well as members of Dollar Energy Fund’s Board of Directors who consistently “soar above and beyond” in their efforts to help us assist our neighbors in need. If you would like to nominate a deserving individual, please complete the Golden Eagle Award Nomination Form.

All nominations must be submitted no later than August 15, 2016, to be eligible for consideration. Forms may be submitted electronically to, or via fax to Jody Robertson at 412-431-2085.

Check out some of last year’s winners below!

Last year, Dollar Energy Fund CEO Chad Quinn presented Bishop David Zubik with the Betty Ann Simon Award.
Last year, Dollar Energy Fund’s CEO Chad Quinn presented Bishop David Zubik with the 2015 Betty Ann Simon Memorial Award.
Chad Quinn presented Kevin Joyce, owner of The Carlton, with a 2015 Golden Eagle Award.
Rebecca Murtland, Private Industry Council of Westmoreland/Fayette Inc., won a 2015 Golden Eagle Award. A representative for Murtland accepted the award on her behalf.
Chad Quinn presented Richard Bazzy, owner of Shults Ford, with a 2015 Golden Eagle Award.
Chad Quinn presented Norm Candelore, Jr., of Sarris Candies, with a 2015 Golden Eagle Award . Last year, Sarris Candies brought in $20,000 for Dollar Energy Fund’s Hardship Program by capitalizing on a national trend.

Donate to Dollar Energy Fund

Your contribution directly supports an individual or family facing a utility crisis.

Get the latest news!

Subscribe to receive Dollar Energy Fund’s monthly newsletter email and be the first to know about news and upcoming events.

* indicates required

Intuit Mailchimp